A Personal Care Assistant, or PCA, is employed by an agency that provides personal care assistance to elderly and disabled citizens of all ages. While some PCAs may be responsible for providing care for many people who are not relatives, it is possible for family members to become a PCA solely for the purpose of caring for a relative. There are exceptions to which relatives can provide care. Those not eligible to be a PCA for a relative are:
Anyone who wants to become a PCA is required to complete DHS Individualized Personal Care Assistance training. The test is offered online for free and consists of approximately 25 multiple choice questions. One cannot get more than 6 questions wrong in order to pass. This test can be taken over immediately if not passed, and as many times as necessary to pass it. There are modules that can be read before taking the training, however, these are not required, though can be very helpful. Registration is necessary in order to take the training and a valid email address will be required so that the certificate can be emailed to the PCA. The agency will also need to get a copy of this certificate from the PCA in order to enroll the PCA with DHS. It's recommended that the PCA keeps the email with the certificate for their records.
After applying with the agency to work as a PCA, the applicant must pass a background check and provide the PCA Training Certificate to the agency in order to be hired. This certificate is required to enroll with the State of MN as a PCA. Enrollment is required in order to bill for the services provided to the client and to compensate the PCA for the work they've provided.
The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) offers two PCA programs: PCA Choice and PCA Traditional. The recipient/client must be enrolled in at least one of Medicaid, Elderly Waiver, Minnesota Alternative Care or Minnesota Senior Health Options to be eligible. Qualifying for one of these programs means that the individual has low income and is over the age of 65 or disabled, or a child with diagnosed conditions that requires additional help. The recipient must have an assessment done by a Lead Agency to determine eligibility and then once this is completed, the recipient is responsible to choose an agency to provide services.
If the recipient elects to be under the PCA Choice Program, the recipient must find their own PCAs to work for them, to have adequate backup plans, be able to self-schedule and manage their total amount of hours for each 6 month service period, and be comfortable in discipline and possible termination of their PCA. Some recipients (mostly those under 18) have a Responsible Party designated to them. The RP is then responsible for all the Choice program requirements. If the recipient chooses to be under the PCA Traditional Program, then the agency is responsible for staffing the client's hours.
Minnesota law requires that the PCA be able to effectively communicate with the recipient and the agency and have the skills necessary to provide the required help to the recipient. PCAs are required to keep daily written records and to report any changes in the condition of the recipient to the agency.
A PCA can provide a maximum of 275 hours of care each month per the Department of Human Services. This number does not change regardless of how many clients and/or agencies the PCA works for. The PCA, if they work for more than one agency, must keep close track of the monthly hours worked between all employers, to make sure not to exceed the 275 monthly hours. DHS does enforce consequences if the employee exceeds the 275 hourly maximum number of hours.
In order to work as a PCA for Heartland PCA, an employee must be at least 18 years of age. Prior to becoming a PCA in Minnesota, one must first complete the required training and pass the certification test. Without passing this test and providing a certificate to Heartland PCA, an individual cannot enroll as a PCA in the state of Minnesota.
A criminal background check will be conducted prior to beginning employment. This background study is a requirement of the state and includes in-state, out-of-state and FBI checks. Anyone who cannot pass this background check will not be able to become a PCA. Because the qualifications and disqualifications are determined by the State of MN, Heartland PCA cannot make any exceptions in order to allow someone to work as a PCA. Upon clearing the background check and being hired, the individual must enroll as a PCA with the Minnesota Department of Human Services. This process is done by Heartland PCA after the enrollment application is completed by the employee.
Much of what the PCA can assist the client with depends upon what the recipient has been assessed for by a Lead Agency. A care plan is created between the client and the Qualified Professional (QP) at Heartland PCA. Among tasks often included in the care plan are:
PCAs are not allowed to transport minors (under 18 years old). This applies even for those working under the Choice program. When transporting clients over 18 years of age, after receiving approval from the agency, only the PCA and the client are allowed to be in the vehicle. No other passengers must be present. Overtime (over 40 hours in 1 week) is not permitted unless it's been preapproved by Administration at Heartland PCA. Do not ask the recipient to sign blank timesheets. The hours being worked belong to the recipient, not the PCA.
You are breaking federal law if you: